Expenses are charged and payable by the semester since each semester is a separate unit of operation. All students free of debt to the college may enroll at the beginning of any semester. Registration for any semester is not complete until all fees are paid in full or a student successfully enrolls in a QuikPay deferred payment plan. No student may be admitted to classes without having met their financial obligations.
Method of payments available are cash, check, debit/credit card (Mastercard/Visa/Discover) and/or deferred payment plan. Cash, check, and/or debit/credit card are accepted by all campuses. Students may pay charges on-line through MyWS using a debit/credit card or web check. In addition, students may sign up for an automatic deferred payment plan (QuikPay) only available on-line through MyWS using a credit card or bank account routing information (checking or savings).
All check payments from personal accounts received in-person, mailed to the college, or placed in a drop box are converted intro an electronic ACH (Automated Clearing House) payment unless the payer notifies the cashier at time of payment or notifies the Cashier Office in writing. All check payments from personal accounts are electronically debited from the payers’ bank account and the paper check destroyed in compliance with institutional policies. Check payments from business accounts are processed as a paper check payment. Check-writing privileges (paper or electronic) are suspended after two consecutive returned checks for any reason. There is a $30 returned check fine for any returned check transaction (paper or electronic). Students are administratively withdrawn from the semester if returned checks for registration related fees are not paid within the specified time as identified in written communication by the Business Office.
All deferred payments are established on-line through MyWS. This process is outsourced to Nelnet Business Solutions (NBS). NBS charges a $25 enrollment fee for this service. This service offers an automatic installment solution to pay tuition/fee related expenses only. Any individual contracting with NBS for a deferred payment grants NBS the authority to automatically withdraw the payment from their bank account or automatically charge their debit/credit card according to the payment agreement. Walters State Community College (WSCC) is not responsible for any charges incurred by individuals who establish a deferred payment contract with NBS. For additional information, refer to the Cashier Office webpage at ws.edu or contact the Cashier Office at 423-585-2616, Monday - Friday, 8 a.m. - 4 p.m.
No student may enroll, re-enroll, graduate, or receive a transcript of records until all accounts are paid in full. The term “account” includes any indebtedness to the college. All tuition/fees and fines are subject to change by the Tennessee Board of Regents without notification.
In-State Tuition and Fees – All Students (Excludes Dual Enrollment Students)
For current information regarding tuition and fees refer to this link:http://ws.edu/student-services/cashiers-office/tuition-fees/.
Dual Enrollment Students
Mandatory maintenance fee is $166 per credit hour. Dual enrollment students are also assessed and responsible for miscellaneous and special course fees as listed below.
Please see Guidelines for the Classification of Students for Fee Paying Purposes for definition of Out-of-State Student. Non-residents of Tennessee pay out-of-state tuition in addition to in-state tuition and fees. Out-of-state tuition is independent of all other charges.
2019-20 Rates for Fall and Spring Semesters: $524 per credit hour up to 12 credit hours. $105 per credit hour above 12 credit hours.
Summer Semester: $524 per credit hour.
Students are classified as resident or nonresident by the department of Admissions for the purpose of assessing tuition charges. The definition of residency is applied as determined by the Tennessee Board of Regents policy. The domicile of a married person shall be determined independent of the domicile of the spouse. The burden of proof pertaining to residence is placed upon the student, including the responsibility of submission of documentation as required by Walters State. A student, once classified as out-of-state, shall continue to be thus classified unless a change of legal residence is established by evidence other than presence as a student.
If there is any question concerning residency at the time of registration, the student may be conditionally admitted and pay in-state fees. The student is required to submit appropriate documentation no later than one week after the end of regular registration. After the documentation is reviewed by the department of Admissions and Enrollment Management the student may be assessed out-of-state tuition at that time.
Out-of-state students who are registered for all on-line courses may be eligible for a reduced tuition/fee assessment. The rate is referred to as an eRate. The eRate discounts the out-of-state tuition only. All other fees are charged as previously stated. The department of Admissions determines who is eligible for the eRate after all registration has ended for the semester. Any out-of-state student eligible for the eRate will incur a re-assessment of out-of-state fees and will receive a refund electronically or in the mail for the discounted out-of-state fee. For 2019-20, the eRate (out of state fee) is $84 per credit hour.
NOTE: For the 2019-2020 academic year, in-state tuition, out-of-state tuition and fees may be increased. The amount of increase is not known at the time of printing this catalog. Please refer to future Timetable of Classes located under the Admissions link or to the Walters State home page at ws.edu. These rates are set by the Tennessee Board of Regents every year during the June board meeting. Therefore, new rates are not available until mid-July or later.
Students enrolling in regular college courses as audits pay the same fees as those enrolling for credit. Audit students follow the same procedures for enrollment and payments as other students.
Application Fee - Rescinded effective April 11, 2014.
Late Registration Fee - $25. This fee is charged for registrations occurring on or after the official start date of a semester or during the entire period of late registration. Non-refundable.
Technology Access Fee - $15 per semester hour to a maximum of $112.50. This fee is subject to the same refund procedures as in-state and out-of-state tuition. The Technology Access Fee is assessed to provide a direct benefit to students for items such as new and improved high technology laboratories and classrooms, appropriate network and software, computers and other equipment, and technological improvements that enhance instruction and learning outcomes.
Campus Access and Security Fee - $11.50 per student per semester. This fee covers the parking hang tag that allows access to all Walters State campuses. Once a student pays all applicable fees, the student may pick up their hang tag from any Campus Police Department office. Non-refundable.
International Education Fee - $1 per semester hour to a maximum of $12 per semester. This fee is subject to the same refund procedures as in-state and out-of-state tuition. This fee is charged only for fall and spring semesters. The International Education fee is assessed to provide students with international experiences, study abroad experiences, international learning outcomes, applied experiences, and celebrations of global diversity.
Student Government Activity Fee - $8 per student per semester. This fee is used to support student activities such as clubs, intramural programs, scholarships, etc. Non-refundable.
Special Course Fees (Paid to WSCC) Non-refundable.
- Individual Instruction in Music - Additional charge for individual music instruction shall be as follows: One credit hour course - $45. Two credit hour course - $90.
- Basic Police Recruit School - A flat fee of $119.
- Culinary Arts Food Consumption - An additional flat fee of $50 per course is assessed as a special ingredients fee for specific CULN 2990 courses.
- TN eCampus Program Online Course Fee: A $61 per credit hour tuition.
- Natural Science Labs - A $15 flat fee is assessed for all natural science division labs.
- Allied Health Fee - $25 per credit hour. This applies to the following programs: nursing, respiratory therapy, physical therapy assistant, emergency medical technology and paramedic.
- Culinary Arts Fee - $20 per credit hour.
- Distance Education Fee - $10 per credit hour. This applies to any WSCC web based (online), video-streaming, hybrid course, or desktop video course.
Diploma Replacement Fee - $20.
Transcript Fee - No charge for transcripts provided that requests do not exceed five copies at any one time. Transcripts in excess of five copies issued at any one time is subject to a charge of $3 each. Non-refundable.
- Tennessee High School Equivalency Test - $25. Retest - $10 for each test.
- Nursing Achievement Tests Nursing Challenge Exam (Contact the Division of Health Programs for a listing of current test fees)
- American College Test (Residual) - $45.
- COMPASS Exam or Retest - $10.
- HESI A2 (pre-nursing exam) - $45.
- CLEP Test - $30.
- Tennessee High School Equivalency Transcript - $5.
- Proctoring Fee - $25.
Walters State reserves the right to add miscellaneous course fees for courses utilizing off-campus facilities such as bowling, aviation, etc.
NOTE: Above incidental fees are subject to change without notice.
Fee Waivers / Discount Programs
- Tennessee Code Annotated 49-7-113. Disabled, Elderly Persons and Retired State Employees - Auditing Classes or Enrolling for Credit.
- Auditing Class(es)
- Disabled persons suffering from a permanent total disability which totally incapacitates such person from working at an occupation which brings the person an income, or persons who have retired from state service with thirty (30) or more years of service, regardless of age, or persons who will become sixty (60) years of age or older during the academic quarter or semester and, who are domiciled in Tennessee, may audit courses at any state-supported college or university without paying tuition charges, and some fees; however, this privilege may be limited or denied by the college or university on an individual classroom basis according to space availability. Students are responsible for application fee, late fees, campus access fee, and any special course fees assessed.
- The provisions of this section shall not apply at medical schools, dental, or pharmacy schools, and no institution of higher education shall be required to make physical alterations of its buildings or other facilities to comply with this section.
- Prior to admittance, the university or college involved may require an affidavit or certificate from a physician or an agency charged with compensating the disabled person or adjudicating the permanent total disability of the person who is requesting admittance to classes, that such person is permanently totally disabled as set forth herein.
- A student who is receiving services under federal or state vocational rehabilitation programs is not eligible for a waiver of tuition and fee benefits under this section.
- Credit Class(es)
- A mandatory fee of $70 per semester is charged to persons with a permanent, total disability, and persons who will become 65 years of age or older during the academic semester in which they begin classes and who are domiciled in Tennessee. (Note: This fee includes maintenance fees, student activity fees, technology access fees, and registration fees; it does not preclude an application fee, late fee, change-of-course fee, parking fee, special course fee, etc.). This only applies to enrollment on a space available basis, which permits registration no earlier than four weeks prior to the first day of classes.
- Regular/temporary state employees or retired employees with 30 or more years of service who are or will be 65 during the semester and who also reside in Tennessee are eligible to enroll in courses at the reduced rate of $75 per semester. (Note: This fee includes maintenance fees, student activity fees, technology access fees, and registration fees; it does not preclude an application fee, late fee, change-of-course fee, parking fee, special course fee, etc.). This only applies to enrollment on a space available basis, which permits registration no earlier than four weeks prior to the first day of classes.
At Walters State Community College, disabled and elderly persons are permitted to enroll only during the late registration period on a space available basis. Documentation of age or disability status must be presented at the time of registration, and the documentation of disability includes a completed Physician’s Certificate of Total Disability form signed by a licensed medical doctor and a statement or affidavit from the agency charged with compensating the disabled person or adjudicating the permanent and total disability of the person requesting admittance to classes. Others must complete a request for discount with the Cashier Office each semester prior to the fee payment due dates.
Additionally, the person must satisfy requirements for admission to the college.
- State and TBR Employees
- State Employee Fee Waivers - Employees of the state of Tennessee and members of the General Assembly may be eligible to enroll in one course per term not to exceed four credit hours on a space available basis without the payment of mandatory tuition/fees and RODP on-line course fee. State employees are responsible for any late fees and miscellaneous/special course fees, such as music, culinary arts, etc. Course enrollment is permitted on a “space available” first-come-first-serve basis. State employees may not register or turn in the fee waiver form until the date indicated in the current Timetable of Classes. A form must be completed and submitted each semester. Employer certification should not be obtained before the following dates each semester: July 11 for Fall, November 11 for Spring, and April 11 for Summer. Forms for each semester must be received in the Cashier Office before waives are applied, preferably prior to fee payment. Employees having questions concerning this process should contact the Cashier Office. Questions pertaining to the fee waiver program for state or retired state employees may be directed to the Human Resources Department.
- Employees of Tennessee Board of Regents System and the University of Tennessee System Utilizing a PC 191 - Employees of the TBR System of the University of Tennessee System may be eligible to enroll for one course per term for credit, not to exceed four credit hours on a space available basis without the payment of mandatory fees or RODP on-line fee. Employees are responsible for late fees and miscellaneous/special course fees, such as music, culinary arts fees, etc. Employees using a fee waiver to obtain one free course per term may not register or turn in a fee waiver form until the date specified in the Timetable of Classes. The fee waiver forms must be presented to the Cashier Office at the time fees are paid. A form must be completed and submitted each semester. Employer certification should not be obtained before the following dates each semester: July 11 for Fall, November 11 for Spring, and April 11 for Summer. Completed forms for each semester must be received in the Cashier Office at the time of payment. Employees having questions concerning this process should contact the Cashier Office.
- Fee Discounts for Dependents of Certified Public School Teachers or State Employees - Children under the age of 24 whose parent is employed as a full-time state licensed teacher in any public school in Tennessee, a full-time employee of the State of Tennessee or deceased state employee may be eligible for a 25 percent discount of maintenance fees per semester. Fee discounts described herein are also available for children of retired public school teachers or retired state employees meeting a minimum specified service requirement or of state employees killed on the job or in the line of duty. Certification of eligibility to receive the discount must be provided to the college each semester. A form must be completed and submitted each semester. Employer certification should not be obtained before the following dates each semester: July 11 for Fall, November 11 for Spring, and April 11 for Summer. Forms for each semester must be received in the Cashier Office at the time of fee payment. Note: Dependents of retired public school teachers or retired state employees must obtain certification from the Tennessee Consolidated Retirement System, Andrew Jackson Bldg., 10th Floor, 502 Deadrick Street, Nashville, TN 37243-0201 (Fax: 615-401-6818). Questions pertaining to participation in this program should be directed to the Cashier Office.
All fee waivers and discounts are subject to change by policy of the Tennessee Board of Regents without prior notice. Refer to the current Timetable of Classes as dates are subject to change without notification.
- Eligibility for Deferment of Payment of Tuition and Fees by Certain Eligible Students Receiving U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs or Other Governmentally Funded Educational Assistance Benefits
Service members, veterans and dependents of veterans who are eligible beneficiaries of U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs education benefits or other governmentally funded educational assistance, subject to the conditions and guidelines set forth in Tennessee Code Annotated 49-7-104 as amended, may elect, upon formal application, to defer payment of required tuition and fees until the final day of the term for which the deferment has been requested. Application for the deferment must be made no later than 14 days after the beginning of the term, and the amount of the deferment shall not exceed the total monetary benefits to be received for the term. Students who have been granted deferments are expected to make timely payments on their outstanding tuition and fees balance once education benefits are being delivered, and eligibility for such deferment shall terminate if the student fails to abide by any applicable rule or regulation, or to act in good faith in making timely payments. This notice is published pursuant to Public Chapter 279, Acts of 2003, effective July 1, 2003. All deferred payments must be paid in full before a student is eligible to register for future semesters in compliance with TBR policies.
- Military personnel and/or dependents/spouses may be eligible for fee discounts. Pursuant to TCA 49-7-102 certain statutory fee exceptions exist for dependents and spouses of military personnel killed, missing in action, or officially declared a prisoner of war while servicing honorably as a member of the armed forces during a period of armed conflict. If these provisions are invoked by a student, the institution will implement the correct applicable law upon determination by the institution.
Military reserve and national guard personnel who are mobilized to active military service within six months of attendance at a TBR institution and whose mobilization lasts more than six months shall be charged upon re-enrollment at such institution the tuition, maintenance fees, student activity fees and required registration or matriculation fees that were in effect when such student was enrolled prior to mobilization. After re-enrollment, no increase in tuition, maintenance fees, student activity fees or required registration or matriculation fees shall be assessed to such student until a period of time equal to one year plus the combined length of all military mobilizations has elapsed. In no event, however, shall a student’s tuition and fees be frozen after re-enrollment for more than four years.
To be eligible for the tuition and fee freeze, the student shall have completed military service under honorable conditions and shall re-enroll in a TBR institution within six months of release from active duty.
A student eligible for the tuition and fee freeze may transfer from one state institution of higher education to another state institution of higher education one time with such student’s tuition and fees calculated at the institution to which the student transfers as if the student had been in attendance at that institution before the mobilization that resulted in the student’s tuition and fee freeze at the initial institution.
A student meeting the above eligibility requirements must notify and provide required documentation to the institution at time of enrollment.
Third Party Authorizations
If a third party or outside entity is paying tuition, fees, books, etc. on behalf of the student such as Voc Rehab, WIA, police department, TRA contract, etc., the Cashier Office must receive the authorization of payment a minimum of two days prior to the fee payment deadline as published in the current Timetable of Classes. This allows the Cashier Office appropriate time to apply payment to the student’s account to insure that a student’s schedule is not deleted for non-payment of fees.
If the third party or outside entity has not previously been associated with Walters State Community College, the entity must submit a 1099 form to the Cashier Office no later than one week prior to the fee payment deadline. All new entities must be established in WSCC’s computer system before any payments can be applied.
All charges are the responsibility of the student registered for class(es). It is the student’s responsibility that all documents are received by the institution in compliance with the aforementioned policies/procedures to ensure payment/enrollment.
If you have questions, please contact the Cashier Office on the Morristown Campus at 423-585-2616.
Fees are due and payable by the publicized due date each semester. Fee payment due dates are published each semester in the Timetable of Classes and at ws.edu. It is the student’s responsibility to pay all fees in full or successfully enroll in a QuikPay deferred payment plan by the appropriate due date to confirm their enrollment. Any student whose balance is not paid in full by the appropriate fee payment due date forfeits their seating rights to their current class schedule. Any student re-registering for classes due to non-payment of fees may incur late fees or additional charges upon re-registering, dropping, or adding classes. Walters State does not guarantee that the same courses forfeited will be available upon re-registration.
The Cashier Office currently sends electronic notices to students through STARMAIL. Paper tuition/fee bills are no longer mailed. It is the student’s responsibility to activate their STARMAIL account and monitor their STARMAIL. (Information concerning STARMAIL is provided by the Admissions Office). It is the students’ responsibility to know the fee payment due dates and if any fees are owed. Students may also view their account balance through STARNET.
Fee Payment Options
In person at any campus cashier office: Students may pay fees by cash, check, money order, credit/debit cards (Mastercard, VISA, Discover) at any Walters State campus cashier office. Please make checks/money orders payable to WSCC. Normal office hours are Monday - Friday, 8 a.m. - 4 p.m. Please contact the specific campus for hours of operation.
Mail: Students may remit their payment upon receipt of an electronic notice. Make a check payable to WSCC for the full amount of tuition/fees and mail to WSCC, Cashier Office, 500 S. Davy Crockett Parkway, Morristown, TN 37813. Payments need to be mailed one week prior to the fee payment due date in order for Walters State to receive and apply the payment to student’s account prior to the fee payment due date. Payments received after the due date are returned to the student marked “void” as schedules are dropped for non-payment by the established due date.
Note: All paper checks received by WSCC from personal checking accounts to pay charges are converted into electronic ACH transactions unless the payer notifies the Cashier Office at the time of payment. Accounts are electronically debited from the payers’ checking account. In addition, WSCC will apply its returned check policy to any returned payment (paper or electronic).
On-line Payment Options Through MyWS
Students may choose between two options for payment of their account balance through MyWS. Option 1: Pay in full with credit/debit card or electronic check. Option 2: Enroll in a deferred payment plan for current tuition/fee charges. These options are available in MyWS under the Student Menu. Select Student Account to view these options.
Credit Card/Debit Card/Electronic Check: WSCC accepts Mastercard, VISA, and Discover. Students may also enter their routing and bank account information from a valid checking or savings account. Select “Bill Payment Suite - (Pay Account Balance in Full)” from the Student Account Menu in STARNET.
QuikPay Deferred Payment: Students may enroll in a deferred payment plan through MyWS only. Walters State has outsourced this service to Nelnet Business Solutions (NBS) to offer students a deferred payment plan. To enroll in a payment plan, students must access STARNET and select “QuikPay - Deferred Payment Plan” option from the Student menu.
The deferred payment plan offers a student/responsible party an option to pay tuition/fee charges in installments. It grants NBS the authorization to automatically withdraw payments from the student/responsible parties’ bank account or charge their credit card. To participate, a student/responsible party must pay NBS a down payment plus a $25 enrollment fee at the time of enrollment. The remaining balance is then divided into monthly installments. Again, this is an automatic withdrawal from a student/responsible party’s account or charge to their credit card. NO PAYMENTS OR INSTALLMENTS ARE MADE DIRECTLY TO WSCC. Be sure to read ALL information carefully before agreeing and enrolling in a deferred payment plan. Walters State is not responsible for overdraft charges due to the payment plan. If you have any questions, please contact the Morristown Campus Cashier Office at 423-585-2616. You may also refer to the Cashier’s webpage www.ws.edu for additional information.
Any student whose deferred payment plan is terminated at the beginning of the term by NBS is granted 10 business days to pay tuition/fees in full or be administratively withdrawn from the semester. Any student who defaults on installments after their down payment and enrollment fee was paid is invoiced according to institutional policies and procedures. Any debt due WSCC may be turned over to the institution’s collection agency. Any student owing WSCC monies will have a hold placed on their account. These students are not able to re-enroll, graduate, receive transcripts, drop courses, etc. until payment is made in full. These students also forfeit their rights to participate in the deferred payment plan in the future.
- Institutional Refunds
Students are to assume full responsibility for specific course selections and the institution assumes no responsibility for refunding in situations whereby class conflicts or errors in scheduling occur. Refunds occur when a student drops a course or courses which result in an adjusted cost associated with the course(s) dropped.
Refund procedures for in-state, out-of-state tuition, the technology access fee and the international education fee are as follows:
- Situations which may result in an adjusted cost and a corresponding refund:
- Dropping a course(s) which results in a class load of fewer hours and results in a lower cost.
- Withdrawing from the college.
- Canceled classes by WSCC. Not subject to prior notification.
- Withdrawals due to being called to active military duty or National Guard service during the term.
- Death of a student during the term.
- Fee adjustment calculation (cost adjustments):
- Fees are adjusted 100% up to the first official day of the semester.
- Fees are adjusted 100% due to canceled classes.
- Fees are adjusted 100% due to withdrawals as a result of being called to active military duty or National Guard service during the term.
- Fees are adjusted 100% due to the death of a student during the term.
- Course(s) dropped or student withdrawals during the 75% and 25% refund periods may result in an adjusted cost. See the current Timetable of Classes or the Bursar’s webpage for current refund periods.
- Costs are re-calculated based on adjusted enrollment:
- Courses still enrolled are charged 100% for all required costs plus
- 25% or 75% of costs associated with course(s) dropped and the dates the course(s) were dropped.
- A refund is the difference between the cost of originally enrolled hours and the adjusted cost as calculated in #6 above.
- Refunds will only occur if the newly re-calculated costs are less than the original charges/costs.
- Not all drops/withdrawals will result in a fee adjustment.
- Swapping courses on or after the official start date of the semester may result in additional penalties/tuition/fees being charged to a student’s account especially when miscellaneous, non-refundable fees are involved.
Special procedures are in place to allow military reserve and national guard personnel who are ordered to active military service during a semester to receive a refund. A 100 percent refund of in-state and out-of-state tuition, technology access, international education, activity and access fees may be made when a student withdraws from college due to their being called to extended active duty. A copy of the official military orders must be provided with the student’s withdrawal form. Questions pertaining to these procedures may be directed to the vice president for Academic Affairs, the vice president for Student Affairs or the vice president for Business Affairs.
Refunds are processed approximately two weeks after the conclusion of each respective refund period. Refund checks may be processed electronically (direct deposit) or mailed to a student’s permanent home address on file with the Admissions Office. All fees except tuition, technology access and international education fees are non-refundable. (Please refer to the current Timetable of Classes published each semester or the Cashier’s webpage for specific refund periods.)
II. Financial Aid Refunds
The Cashier Office assists the Financial Aid Office in the disbursement of financial aid refunds electronically or by check. Upon approval from Financial Aid that students meet all eligibility criteria (including attendance), the Cashier Office posts transactions which create direct deposit files or generates a check to be printed and mailed the next business day. Once a student’s financial aid refund has been processed, the student is sent at electronic notification through Senators Mail. This process begins approximately 14 days after the official start date of a semester.
WSCC currently issues a financial aid book/supply advance of funds approximately seven days prior to the official start date of a semester for eligible financial aid recipients (only includes assistance awarded by the Financial Aid Office). The financial aid book/supply advance of funds is the lesser of the student account balance or $600. Students who withdraw or do not attend are subject to repayment requirements as defined by federal, state, and institutional policies.
III. Direct Deposit/Refund Profile
Students may create a “refund profile” through MyWS. This allows WSCC to direct deposit refunds to a student’s checking or savings account. To create a refund profile, log into your MyWS account. Select Student Menu. Select Student Account. Select “Create Refund Profile”. Follow the steps to create your profile. Be sure to enter your account and routing information correctly.
Note: Institutional refunds will automatically be returned to a debit/credit card from which tuition/fees were paid in full for the semester to be compliant with debit/credit card regulations.
IV. Returned Mail/Returned Direct Deposits/Lost Checks
Returned Mail: Students whose checks returned to WSCC as “undeliverable” by the postal service are contacted by phone or e-mail through MyWS. Upon contact, a student will have the option to pick up the check in the Cashier Office or have it mailed to another address. If check cannot be disbursed after two weeks, the check will be voided and the student award reduced.
Returned Direct Deposit: Students whose direct deposits are returned as “undeliverable” will be notified by e-mail through MyWS. A request for a check to be issued will be submitted. Allow 10 business days for processing. The check will be mailed to the student’s permanent address on file. Additionally, a student must correct their refund profile in order to receive direct deposits in the future.
Lost Checks: Checks that are mailed but never received by the student within a two week period may complete an Indemnity Bond and submit it to the Morristown Cashier Office. Upon receipt of the Indemnity Bond, the Cashier Office will confirm that the check has not cleared the bank and place a stop payment on the check. The Cashier Office will then submit a check request for another check to be rewritten and mailed to the student’s permanent address on file.
The college bookstore is operated by Barnes & Noble College Bookstores and is located in Room 124-CCEN. Books, educational supplies, clothing and Walters State spirit items may be purchased from the bookstore.
Bookstore hours are listed in the current Timetable of Classes.
Refunds for books and supplies can be made in the Bookstore.
You Must Have a Receipt for a Refund!
- A full refund will be given in your original form of payment if textbooks are returned with a receipt during the first week of class.
- With proof of a schedule change and a receipt, a full-refund will be given in your original form of payment during the first 30 days of classes.
- All medical and specialty reference book refunds will be given in your original form of payment with a receipt within three days of purchase.
- No refunds on textbooks without a receipt.
- Textbooks must be in original condition.
- Shipping and handling charges are not refundable.
The Bookstore is on the WEB at: ws.edu/student-services/bookstore/. Access this site to purchase books or to print a list of textbooks for all classes.
Motor Vehicle Registration and Campus Parking Permit
All motor vehicles used on campus must meet registration requirements of the state of Tennessee and display a current WSCC parking permit. The period for obtaining a campus parking permit begins August 15 of each year. The campus parking permit is valid for one year and may be displayed on any registered vehicle driven. The campus parking permit may be obtained in the Campus Police Department, at each campus location, upon providing a valid student I.D. number or tuition fee receipt.
Parking Violation Fines
The fine for parking and registration citations is $15. In cases where students are protesting the citation(s), the protest must be made to the office of the vice president for Student Affairs, Room 100-CCEN, within 10 days after the date of the citation (excluding weekends and holidays).
The fine for parking in areas designated for individuals with disabilities (i.e., wheelchair symbol) will be in accordance with Tennessee State law for disability parking violations. All fines will be paid in the Cashier’s Office, Room U159, Student Services Building.
The fine for a moving vehicle violation is $15.
The WSCC Traffic Court, comprised of students, will review and judge all student traffic protests. Citations protested before the Traffic Court and not voided by the court must be paid.
Guidelines for the Classification of Students for Fee Paying Purposes
Intent. It is the intent that the public institutions of higher education in the state of Tennessee shall apply uniform rules, as described in these regulations and not otherwise, in determining whether students shall be classified “in-state” or “out-of-state” for fees and tuition purposes and for admissions purposes.
Definitions. Wherever used in these regulations:
- “Public higher educational institution” shall mean a university or community college supported by appropriations made by the legislature of this state.
- “Residence” shall mean continuous physical presence and maintenance of a dwelling place within this state, provided that absence from the state for short periods of time shall not affect the establishment of a residence.
- “Domicile” shall mean a person’s true, fixed, and permanent home and place of habitation; it is the place where the individual intends to remain, and expects to return when leaving without intentions to establish a new domicile elsewhere.
- “Emancipated person” shall mean a person who has attained the age of 18 years, and whose parents have entirely surrendered the right to the care, custody, and earnings of such person and who no longer are under any legal obligation to support or maintain such deemed “emancipated person”.
- “Parent” shall mean a person’s father or mother. If there is a non-parental guardian or legal custodian of an unemancipated person, then “parent” shall mean such guardian or legal custodian; provided, that there are not circumstances indicating that such guardianship or custodianship was created primarily for the purpose of conferring the status of an in-state student on such unemancipated person.
- “Continuous enrollment” shall mean enrollment at a public higher educational institution or institution of this state as a full-time student, as such term is defined by the governing body of said public higher educational institution or institutions, for a normal academic year or years or the appropriate portion or portions thereof since the beginning of the period for which continuous enrollment is claimed. Such person need not enroll in summer session or other such inter-sessions beyond the normal academic year in order that enrollment be deemed continuous notwithstanding lapses in enrollment occasioned solely by the scheduling of the commencement and/or termination of the academic year, or appropriate portion thereof, of the public higher educational institutions in which such person enrolls.
Rules for Determination of Status
- Every person having domicile in this state shall be classified “in-state” for fee and tuition purposes and for admission purposes.
- Every person not having domicile in this state shall be classified “out-of-state” for said purposes.
- The domicile of an unemancipated person is that of the parent(s).
- The domicile of a married person shall be determined independent of the domicile of the spouse.
Out-of-State Students Who Are Not Required to Pay Out- of-State Tuition
- An unemancipated, currently enrolled student shall be reclassified out-of-state should the parent(s), having theretofore been domiciled in the state, remove from the state. However, such student shall not be required to pay out-of-state tuition nor be treated as an out-of-state student for admission purposes so long as enrollment at a public higher educational institution or institutions shall be continuous.
- An unemancipated person whose parent is not domiciled in this state but is a member of the armed forces and stationed in this state or at Fort Campbell pursuant to military orders shall be classified out-of-state but shall not be required to pay out-of-state tuition. Such a person, while in continuous attendance working toward the degree for which the person is currently enrolled, shall not be required to pay out-of-state tuition if the parent(s) thereafter is transferred on military orders.
- A person, who is not domiciled in Tennessee, but has a bona fide place of residence in a county which is adjacent to the Tennessee state line and which is also within a 30 mile radius (as determined by THEC) of a city containing a two-year TBR institution, shall be classified out-of-state, but admitted without out-of-state tuition. The two-year institution may admit only up to three percent of the full-time equivalent attendance of the institution without out-of-state tuition. (THEC may adjust the number of non-residents admitted pursuant to this section every three years.) See T.C.A. 49-9-102)
- Part-time students who are not domiciled in this state but who are employed full-time in the state, or who are stationed at Fort Campbell pursuant to military orders, shall be classified out-of-state but shall not be required to pay out-of-state tuition.
- Military personnel and their spouses stationed in the State of Tennessee who should be classified out-of-state in accordance with other provisions of these regulations will be classified out-of-state but shall not be required to pay out-of-state tuition. This provision shall not apply to military personnel and their spouses who are stationed in this state primarily for educational purposes.
- Dependent children who qualify and are selected to receive a scholarship under the Dependent Children Scholarship Act (TCA 49-4-704) because their parent is a law enforcement officer, fireman or emergency medical service technician who was killed or totally and permanently disabled while performing duties within the scope of their employment shall not be required to pay out-of-state tuition.
Presumption. Unless the contrary appears from clear and convincing evidence, it shall be presumed that an emancipated person does not acquire domicile in this state while enrolled as a full-time student at any public or private higher educational institution in this state, as such status is defined by such institution.
Evidence to be Considered for Establishment of Domicile. If a person asserts that domicile has been established in this state, the burden of proof lies with that person. Such a person is entitled to provide to the public higher educational institution by which the person seeks to be classified or reclassified in-state, any and all evidence which the person believes will sustain the burden of proof. Said institution will consider any and all evidence provided to it concerning such claim of domicile but will not treat any particular type or item of such evidence as conclusive evidence that domicile has or has not been established.
Appeal. The classification officer of each public higher educational institution shall be responsible for initially classifying students “in-state” or “out-of-state”. Appropriate procedures shall be established by each institution by which a student may appeal the initial classification.
Effective Date for Reclassification. If a student classified out-of-state applies for in-state classification and is subsequently so classified, in-state classification shall be effective as of the date on which reclassification was sought. However, out-of-state tuition will be charged for any quarter or semester during which reclassification is sought and obtained unless application for reclassification is made to the admissions officer on or before the last day of registration of that quarter or semester.
Effective Date. These regulations supersede all regulations concerning classification of persons for fees and tuition and admission purposes previously adopted by the Tennessee Board of Regents, and having been approved by the governor, became effective July 1, 1983.