Jul 18, 2024  
2024-2025 College Catalog and Student Handbook 
2024-2025 College Catalog and Student Handbook

2024-2025 College Catalog and Student Handbook

Volume LIII

The Tennessee Board of Regents (TBR) is Tennessee’s largest higher education system, governing 40 post-secondary educational institutions with over 200 teaching locations. The TBR system includes 13 community colleges and 27 colleges of applied technology, providing programs to students across the state, country and world. 


Walters State Community College is accredited by the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges (SACSCOC) to award associate degrees. Walters State Community College also may offer credentials such as certificates and diplomas at approved degree levels. Questions about the accreditation of Walters State Community College may be directed in writing to the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges at 1866 Southern Lane, Decatur, GA 30033-4097, by calling (404) 679-4500, or by using information available on SACSCOC’s website (www.sacscoc.org). 

Specific programs are accredited or approved by the following agencies:

American Bar Association (ABA)

Accreditation Commission for Education in Nursing (ACEN)

Commission on Accreditation in Physical Therapy Education (CAPTE)

Association for Technology, Management, and Applied Engineering (ATMAE)

Commission on Accreditation for Respiratory Care (CoARC)

Accreditation Council for Business Schools and Programs (ACBSP)

American Culinary Federation Education Foundation (ACFEF)

American Society of Health-System Pharmacists (ASHP)

Commission on Accreditation of Allied Health Education Programs (CAAHEP)

Commission on Accreditation for Health Informatics and Information Management Education (CAHIIM)

National Association for the Education of Young Children (NAEYC)

Accreditation Council for Occupational Therapy Education (ACOTE)

Equal Employment and Nondiscrimination in Education and Employment

Walters State Community College does not discriminate on the basis of race, color, religion, creed, ethnic or national origin, sex, sexual orientation, gender identity/expression, disability, age (as applicable), status as a covered veteran, genetic information, and any other category protected by federal or state civil rights law and by Tennessee Board of Regents policies with respect to employment, programs, and activities. The following person has been designated to handle inquiries regarding non-discrimination policies: Jarvis Jennings, Executive Director of Human Resources, jarvis.jennings@ws.edu, Walters State Community College, 500 S. Davy Crockett Pkwy Morristown, TN 37813, 423.585.6845.

Senator Herbert Walters

Walters State Community College is named for the late statesman Herbert S. Walters, whose inspiration and leadership made possible this college which bears his name by the following resolution:

WHEREAS, The Honorable Herbert S. Walters of Morristown, Tennessee, has achieved notable distinction in public life and in the services of his state and nation, and in his contributions to education at all levels,

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED, That the State Board of Education, in honor of and tribute to him, hereby designates the official name of the new state community college at Morristown, Tennessee “WALTERS STATE COMMUNITY COLLEGE.”

Adopted by the State Board of Education in regular quarterly session assembled February 7, 1969.

Archived College Catalogs

For archived college catalogs from 2009-2010 to the present, see the drop-down menu at the top right of this page. For college catalogs published prior to 2009-2010, contact the Student Records Office at 423-585-2693 or via email at studentrecords@ws.edu.